Skip to content

Stage 1 of the Tour de France. Hunter’s post- “what happened?”

July 2, 2012
Sunday the 1st of July and the Tour de France Peleton were about to start the first stage- 198 km from Liege to Seraing, ending with a serious climb.
Robbie’s diary post of his day:

So- an interesting day to say the least.

Race started and a break went away easily enough for 6 riders. Seemed like it was going to be a relatively easy day as far as Tour standards go. Around the 10km mark,  Cav and me started talking a bit of nonsense and next think I was getting off the floor asking the question “what happened?”

I knew I hit something because even I can be that stupid to crash myself for no apparent reason. (Well not yet I still wanna be here.) If it was maybe 2 weeks down the line and I was feeling like shit, I might just pull a move like that but not yet 🙂

Once I managed to scrape my self off the asphalt I looked back and found the crater in the road I had hit. I remember very little of how it happened but I do remember hitting the deck and going “ouch I’m gonna get smashed from behind”. Lo and behold Tony Martin T-Boned me right in my back and it hurt!

Honestly, I was pretty grateful that I was not the only one who went down…. Nothing worse that crashing and getting back up knowing you crashed alone. The guys always look at a crash when its just 1 guy and say “ah what a dick, he crashed himself”.

1 brand new Cervello, less than 100 km old. One owner. For Sale.

It took FOREVER to get my spare bike- for some reason Radio Tour never announced that I crashed. (Possibly because by the time the coms car came past I was still one with the asphalt and they never actually saw me). “Just call me ninja” (personal joke).

So when my team car rolled up they were like “oh shit- you crashed! Need anything?”  “Yes- a new bike.”

By that time I was way behind and had to do some SERIOUS chasing to get back to the peleton.It was a pretty uncomfortable ride all the way to the finish. I got a pain in my ass….. no seriously, I got a pain in my ass. Every time I get up to sprint feels like some one is putting a knife in a my muscle.I just rolled in to the finish with Tyler after we helped the team “a bit.”  Him more than me- but I did try.
Like I said yesterday not my kind of finish (uphill)…..Sagan smashed it today but I can’t say I’m impressed with the victory salutes he is giving out. He is the most incredible rider at the moment and being so young makes it even more special. BUT just because he is way above the rest of us there is no need to try rub it in our faces that he wins so easy! Needs to cool the ego I think.
Just my opinion… And we all the know the good old saying: “An opinion is like an asshole, everyone has got one”.
Fabian showed his class even though he never won… I was more impressed with what he did than anything else.My guys rode great- Ryder was up there with DMartin; Christian and TommyD. All of them looked pretty comfortable. I can’t wait for the first Mountain stage. (Not for me, for them.)Tomorrow is the first Flat Stage and big bunch kick. A lot of guys are going to give it everything they have, including Tyler and I. I am not sure who to pick but I am saying that Tyler is going to be up there. Anything can happen!Time for some sleep.

CiaoPs. Not sure, but I hear Tony Martin has broken his collarbone, I hope its not true for him. Specially because he was a medal hopeful for Olympics. Stupid crashes happen.

(Remember to subscribe to the blog or follow us on Twitter to get these emails straight to your email or phone.) 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Shaun C permalink
    July 2, 2012 8:14 am

    Must admit, I didn’t like Sagan’s salute either. What made it worse is that Fabian was asking him to work together… which is fine if he didn’t, because when it comes down to winning a stage, you do what you need to do, within reason – but then don’t go about “claiming the glory” in that fashion, if you know what I mean.

    Glad you’re back on the bike. Give it horns.

  2. cathy raats permalink
    July 2, 2012 8:50 am

    You poor thing hope todays better.

  3. July 2, 2012 9:19 am

    Can you give us a bit on Impey – everyone at Jeppe School is asking….. Pleeeeze!

  4. July 2, 2012 12:28 pm

    Sorry about the crash yesterday, but as you
    say ‘shit happens’ unfortunately . Best wishes
    for a great ride today and hope your pain in
    the ass isn’t an issue!

    • July 2, 2012 3:00 pm

      Or that the pain in the ass moves him like no other pain in the ass.

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    July 2, 2012 2:15 pm

    Absolutely love your blog but sorry to
    hear about your crash. Hope
    you make a full recovery.

    • July 2, 2012 3:01 pm

      I am sure we will know soon enough. (Not nice, but happens.)

  6. andrew permalink
    July 2, 2012 9:31 pm

    Hey mater, baie bly jy het nie erg seer gekry nie, kanie wag om jou verder ini toer te sien nie, Ale sukses en voorspoed vir jou

  7. Jeanne permalink
    July 3, 2012 4:39 am

    Eish Rob! Eina! Suppose pointing a crater is “not cool” for your pro mates. Hope the muscles feel a bit more comfy this morning. Give it horns. Will watch our last 2 hour package tonight. Lotsa love. Jeanne

Leave a comment