Skip to content

Stage 6, Robbie resting in “sick bay”

July 7, 2012
Stage 6 was 207.5 km from Epernay to Metz, with the highest point being 393 metres. Our man is still a sore, and healing in sick bay as he terms it. We were so lucky to get some photos courtesy of his Blackberry of the place that had dinner in, and dinner of course. Looking forward to getting many more of these….
Not sure what to say or where to start!

Maybe the talk of the day is a good start, even though it was more like the end of the race.

If I didn’t know any better I would have sworn that I was in a war today and a bomb had been dropped in the group while we were doing 70 km.
Or more accurate- some one hit a land mine.

I was minding my own business as I had been doing the last 2 days and just riding last wheel in the “sick bay” with Tony Martin; Luis Leon Sanches and a few others who have sustained injuries as well, since my high speed meeting with Mr Asphalt and the next thing bikes; people; wheels; and all-kinds-of-things were flying around.

When everybody locked up the wheels actually were exploding, it sounded like gun shots going off.

Doing 70 kms an hour and you hear the sound of a crash, your mind just goes into over drive and says “hit the brakes”, dodge everything that is anything and find the easy way out.

I looked left and saw luscious green grass. Even sitting last wheel at that speed, I had almost no chance to miss the crash had I gone straight.
I have got to say a thank you to Daniele Oss from Liquigas who stopped me from hitting him and/or going over the handle bars. I had “almost” stopped when he saw me coming, and he knew it was not going to not be a pretty sight if we did impact, so he actually grabbed me. He grabbed me by the shoulders and saved us both a lot of pain I am sure.
The road was COMPLETELY blocked. There were guys lying in the ditch on both sides of the road and the road itself was impassable.

“Wow” is all I can now say…………And that I am grateful that I was not in the middle of it.

A lot of guys got hurt today and many went to hospital for check ups.

More about the “Race” that was apparently happening while a lot of guys where scraping themselves off the road?

Green edge & Lotto were trying to bring back (chase him down) Dave Z who had been in the break all day.
I heard that he was only caught 1 km from the finish and was really strong. It was a smaller bunch sprint but a bunch sprint none-the-less and most of the big guys were there anyway. Today’s winner was Super Sagan and again I say he is class… I never had issues with his victory salute from today, acting like the Hulk in the green jersey is actually quite entertaining. (He really does resemble him somewhat 😉 )

I am still in a lot of pain and my back is not in a good way but I’m still here 🙂 I will be hanging at the back in the “sick bay” for a few days yet.

Luckily, we have Daryl Impey, who is flying the SA flag for us.

Till tomorrow….

Robbie
Robert sent us some interesting facts for the day:
We went through 5 bikes just today in the crashes- about 60 000 dollars worth in a day, and in total 11 bikes have been trashed in 6 stages. The wheels- I’d rather not even try and count.

Sorry sponsors we not doing it on purpose.

The church we had dinner in.

Haven’t had a chance to ask what dinner actually was yet…

Remember to subscribe to our blog to get updates straight to your email, or follow us on twitter @helivacems and Facebook- Helivac.

Looking forward to seeing you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rory Harrop permalink
    July 7, 2012 9:46 am

    Glad to hear you are recovering in “sick bay”, sorry to hear your man Ryder has withdrawn, These bloody accidents are becoming more than a joke, maybe too many riders in the peleton ??
    Hope you clear the mountain stages in a good time, stay strong and stay upright.

  2. Joe permalink
    July 7, 2012 9:57 am

    Hi Rob, what caused the crash yesterday?

  3. July 7, 2012 11:47 am

    What a week!
    hoping you heal & rest up well 🙂
    ps. couldn’t tell what your dinner was at all
    either (french food!?)

Leave a Reply

