Skip to content

Tender stage 5 for Robert

July 6, 2012
Stage 5 was 196.5km from Rouen to Saint Quentin, highest point being 205 metres- so it was a pretty flat stage. Our man managed to stay safe, I think that was the main objective.
From Robbie:
Got through the day although I have a lot of pain in my back and I am battling to use my upper body- BUT  I am still here.

I was really happy the race started off at a slow pace today. If we had raced the first 2 hours, I can say for certain I’d still be sitting in France right now.

A day like today- again it was sure to be a bunch kick with not even 1 mountain point out there to entice anybody to go on the attack. Obviously someone always goes, sponsors get (and love) TV time (as we call it). So yes, a few guys did the crazy deed of wasting energy on a lost break away. But happy sponsors- right? And then of course a real break somewhere along the line.

Turns out the break was only caught real late in the race and being a tricky finish, a lot of Sprinters were caught out and never actually got to sprint.

It was a really difficult finish, I remember doing it back in 06 when Mc Ewan won the stage.
Today I hear (and I use the word hear because I was at the back and not only did I not contest the sprint but I have not seen any video footage) that Greipel won ahead of Goss after Goss tried to take it too long. I get the feeling the green edge guys might pull off a stage sooner or later.

You keep knocking, it always comes.

I “hear” that Daryl Impey did a great Job again for Gossy- getting him into position. Good to see he has really stepped it up a notch these last few months.

I remember a few years back, when Daryl first came to Europe, he never had a chance of even moving up in the group let alone trying to do it in the worlds biggest race! Determination!

We raced in Belgium one day and Daryl decided to try do something in the race. I was feeling bad so just chilling at the back while talking to him. Next second he says “ok, I have got to move up if I am going to do anything”. Chaio? Chaio. Goes to the right of the group and 30 seconds later he was next to me again. I just laughed and said “maybe it is best if you stay here for now and not even try”. True story. Just shows how he has developed  over time and now is a REAL bike rider.

So Greipel has 2 stages to his name and I’m pretty sure he is not done yet.

Me, on the other hand, have no stages and lots of pain for my trying. I need a few days to try recover and I think in week 2 I will be up and sprinting again.

Tyler also seems to be having a hard time of things, as he stacked it again today. (I am not so sure that there are going to be a lot of friendly words tomorrow at the start between Tyler and Tom Veelers.)
(Photo used from http://www.cyclingnews.com)

How beautiful are our colors? (Photo used from the http://www.cyclingnews.com)

I’ve not seen it but according to what i heard, a push possibly a bit too hard- ended up in a big crash. The only comment I have seen from Veelers was “he was trying to get in on my train”.

Sprinting is not easy and it is a huge risk but hell, if we all have that mentality then we might as well just start boxing instead of riding bikes. Pushing and shoving is ok, but to the point that guys are dropping each other- that’s not cool.

Robbie

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rory Harrop permalink
    July 6, 2012 7:57 am

    Hmm, maybe next week we can get Jonathan V to consider putting DZ and Tyler up front to lead you out, we know you have the legs to do it…..

    • Brett permalink
      July 6, 2012 8:30 am

      Agreed…..injuries aside, Robbie looks stronger (physically and mentally) than Tyler Farrar. I say the team should let him loose to go for a stage win.

      • Rory Harrop permalink
        July 6, 2012 4:59 pm

        Both SAFFAS are looking stronger than their team sprint leaders, I am not bias but honest….

  2. Claudia hunter permalink
    July 6, 2012 9:15 am

    Viva Robbie! Love u!

    • Rory Harrop permalink
      July 6, 2012 5:01 pm

      Ha ha, seems you’ll be competing with an entire nation Claudia……well for the next couple of weeks any-ways.

  3. Jeanne permalink
    July 6, 2012 10:05 am

    Would love to see you win a stage in our beautiful colours Robbie. Hope the body heals quicky.

  4. Denver Avontuur permalink
    July 6, 2012 2:11 pm

    Hi Robbie, we feel for you! Keep relaxing, and then week2 we will enjoy your sprinting talent. I will keep watching your progress over the next two weeks. Enjoy the Tour!

  5. Corné Serfontein permalink
    July 6, 2012 7:47 pm

    Go Robbie! Can’t wait for week 2. Plse show them what you can do!!!!

Leave a Reply

