Skip to content

Prompt response from Helivac saves 23-year-old biker’s life

August 22, 2011

Extreme sports enthusiast Michael Wessels has praised Helivac for the swift and professional life-saving care that he received onboard an air ambulance despatched by the emergency services provider, following a serious off-road motorbike accident in June 2011.

23-year-old Wessels required urgent medical attention after suffering internal bleeding, fractured ribs and a dislocated shoulder, after he misjudged a 20-m-high jump on his 450cc bike on an isolated dirt course located in Daytona, near Diepsloot.

“After hitting the ramp, I misjudged the distance when landing, and fell over the handlebars before the bike hit me from behind and knocked me out,” he explains. “When I woke up, I had no feeling from my hips down, and I immediately knew that I was in serious trouble.”

Read More

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

